Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 16, 2005, 11:33 AM   #1

This is my first post as I am new to the digital world. I have shot with slr film camera only. I am ready to make the jump but am not sure wether to go dslr (such as Pentax ist ds or d70). I am also seriously considering the fz20. How will I know if I am ready for a dslr and should just take the plunge or if it is too much camera for me? I don't want to put down the cash on a camera that I will outgrow in a couple of years though. What do you think?
amyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 16, 2005, 12:04 PM   #2

If you have always used a film SLR then you are ready for a DSLR, and you will not outgrow it soon. The Panasonic FZ20 is a very nice camera which would be an excellent choice, especially for anyone more familiar with p&s cameras, but it does not have the responsiveness of an SLR.

Ira
Monza76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 12:23 PM   #3

Thank you so much for the feedback! Do you have any suggestions on which dslr? I am debating between the ist ds and the d70.
Old Feb 16, 2005, 12:23 PM   #4

There is really no such thing as "too much" with a DSLR except for two things:

(i) price
(ii) size

If money isn't an issue and if the larger size is ok with you then I don't think you can go wrong with a DSLR. Don't forget that DSLRs have automatic modes just like consumers/prosumers. The only thing is that they may not be as user friendly but this is pretty minor if you have past experience with any camera (film or not). Do note that trying to replicate the prosumers will cost a bit but I'm assuming money isn't an issue (eg. trying to get 10x image stabilized zoom lens for a DSLR is expensive)...
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 12:45 PM   #5