Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 18, 2005, 8:29 PM   #1

Im leaning towards these 2 models the a95 and FX-7, money isnt a problem buying it, but i wanna get the best one and since im a beginner i cant choose without recommendation.

So to begin with, i have used the prior a95 baby sister the a70 and a80 and i like it. never used any panasonic lumix but the one thing that sets it apart is the large LCD screen (with protection) and the Image Stabilizer mode which is beneficial.

But after soughting out of reviews from my other camera-happy friends they informed me that the Image Stabilizer doesnt make much a difference.

My Needs: I would like to play around with the shutter speed, ISO and everything since i used to be an avid SLR fan back in the days. Basically i like customizability in a camera...

So Which one should i get Canon A95 or Panasonic Lumix FX-7

PS - Sorry if this question has been asked before as i have used the search function and no topic came up and also THANKS in advance.
fleng is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2005, 10:40 AM   #2

Here's a side by side comparison of the two...

First of all, you won't see much difference between the A95 and the A80/A70/etc. So you pretty much know how it is. A95 is what I would call a 'compact'...

The Panasonic FX7 is what I would call 'ultra-compact'. It is MUCH smaller than the A95. Roughly speaking, the following comments apply to ultra-compacts vs compacts in general:

* ultra-compacts generally have worse noise
* ultra-compacts generally have weaker flash and greater red-eye problems
* ultra-compacts generally have larger LCD
* ultra-compacts generally have better case (metal)
* ultra-compacts generally don't offer manual controls (such as control over aperature/shutter speed)

Those comments are for roughly any camera... So you basically have to pick convenience/size/coolness (ultra-compact) vs manual controls/quality (compact).