Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 1, 2005, 6:56 PM   #1

I am brand new to this and would love some suggestions. This camera will be used for everyday family type pictures. It needs to be easy to use, and hopefully durable.

We also would like a good image. Features such as good battery life, type of batteries, and media storage are also important.

Size and esthetics are less important for us. We've heard about the ease of Kodak cameras - is this good advice, and also are there any other brands / models we should consider? We are looking at a 3 - 4 mega pixel camera.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

emergency_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 1, 2005, 7:31 PM   #2

I'd say that the A75 or A510(basicly the same model with a few differences) is an excellent camera. It offers you lots of manual controls, but is at the same time very easy to use in Auto mode or in P mode(nearly all auto, but better). It also has a good number of scene modes, so it can help you take pictures in situations where the Auto mode isn't so great, but where you don't want to go in manual mode. The image quality is excellent.

I do not own any of those cameras, but I own the A95 which is very similar to them in terms of image quality, manual controls and everything.

The A75 has a lens that goes from 35-105mm which is very nice, the A510 has it even better, the lens starts at 35 and goes up to 140mm. Now if you don't know what that means, well 50mm is basicly what your eye sees. Anything above that brings objects closer thus reducing the field of view, very good for far objects. Anything below that puts objects further, thus increasing the field of view, very good for familly pictures or for scenery.
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2005, 9:30 PM   #3