Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 2, 2005, 2:22 PM   #1

Hi!

I'm hoping to get an opinion on the Canon A510 and the Nikon Coolpix 4200. I am completely new to digital photography and could sure use some help. My husband gave me a Sony DSCP 73 for Christmas. The first one had a manufacturing defect related to the white balance (there was no way to adjust it) and the second one all pictures came out too dark no matter what the camera setting was (even automatic) and no matter what conditions the picture was taken in. So we ended up returning it as well.

I have been doing a lot of looking around and reading user reviews and have come down to these two cameras, however, I'm not sure which would be the better of the two. On the Canon I like the 4x zoom, AA batteries, that it comes with a minimal memory card (at least enough to see if we like the pictures before buying a memory card), and that it seems to have positive reviews. On the Nikon I like the 4 MP, red eye reduction, the fact that it has been out for a while, and that it too has mainly positive reviews. When I went to a local store to look at the cameras, I was impressed with the appearance of both. The sales person was pushing the 4200 until she realized that they didn't have any in stock and then the Canon became the better of the two.

We will use the camera in varied situations -indoors, outdoors, but probably not very much at night. We will probably most often develop the pictures in a 4 x 6 format, but probably not any enlarging up to an 8 x 10. Because i'm new to digital photography I do want something that is fairly easy to use or at least has a good owner's manual. The idea is to take this camera when we will be somewhere that my husband doesn't want to drag his Pentax 35 mm with the flash bar.

Will the 3 MP on the Canon vs the 4 MP on the Nikon make a great deal of difference on the 4 x 6 picutres?