Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 8, 2005, 8:27 PM   #1

Hello,

I'm trying to get into stock photography and have found that my biggest obstacle is getting good enough pictures with the current 3mp Fuji I have. I'm looking at buying a better camera now. Originally I had my eye on the Olympus C8080, but now I am also considering the Nikon Coolpix 8800. I would like 8mp, or more, great crisp clear pictures in numerous situations, including indoor, outdoor, sport, night, etc. Macro shots are especially important now.

I'm kind of new to photography and I'm learning as I go. So I would like something that is farely easy to use, but at the same time gives me the ability to grow into. I'm not really looking into DSLR's quite yet, that will probably come some time in the future. I borrowed a friends Olympus C8080 on vacation and took a few hundred photos, just to discover they were on ISO 400, so I didn't get a good idea of how clear the pictures were. In the reveiws I liked the photos for both the Olympus and the Nikon, but the nightime picture with the Nikon really caught my eye.

I'm open to suggestions, been looking at getting a new camera for about a year now and I'm having a hard time deciding what it is that I want. Now that I am doing stock I have a little more of an idea of what I need, now it's just a matter of finding it. I'm also looking at these two because they include the remote, both 8mp, good pictures, swivel screen, appear to have pretty good macro capability and also have the ability to add on some lenses in the future.

Any opinions on which camera to buy is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Snick :|
snicker_bar4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 8, 2005, 10:04 PM   #2