Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 11, 2005, 9:50 PM   #1

Looking for a digital camera mainly to shoot soccer and baseball games. Would also use for inside family shots . Want to be able to get up close from the side lines. Don't need any of the fancy features as I am a newbie. Also interested in a video with sound feature for short clips of play. I would like to be able to print at least an 8x10 size photo with good quality. Would like to stay well under $300, if that's possible.

I'm confused on the optical vs. digital zoom, which do I want for those far away shots?:?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Shriv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2005, 10:46 PM   #2

If you want to "get upclose to the sidelines", then you will want a high zoom lens. Most of them are over your budget, but there are a few for under $300. The first one I would look at would be the Fuji S5000, which has a 10x zoom. There is also the Minolta Z2 w/10x, and the Z10 w/8x zoom as well. All of these have enough mp's to print up to 8x10. I don't know about their movie modes, but you can look that up in the reviews.

Don't worry if your camera has fancy features. You don't have to use them if you don't want to. Just put the camera in automatic mode and let it do the thinking for you.

Optical zoom uses the lens to do the "magnification". Digital zoom just uses interpolation by the camera to magnify the central portion of the picture, which will degrade the image. Digital zoom can be helpful, but as it doesn't provide a good image as compared to optical, most people would say to disregard dig. zoom.

PhilR.

PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 6:43 AM   #3