Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 15, 2005, 10:53 AM   #1

Hello,

I'm trying to decide on what I should do for a new digital camera. I'm trying to get into stock photography, but the point and shoot camera I have now just isn't able to produce the quality needed to get good sales. Basically I need a camera that has automatic features, but also allows for manual if needed, for ISO and such. I'd also like to have several different scene selections because I don't know what good settings are for different situations, yet. Good zoom, great macro, pretty good night shots, just an overall good camera that produces very nice images. If possible I would also like to have the ability to add on lenses and flash in the future if I would want to do so. I'd also like a flip LCD and remote, but these aren't necessary.

I'm wanting something with at least 5 or 6 mp. I'm still learning composition and things, so I find I have to crop a lot to get a really nice shot. I have a 3mp now and I just don't have the ability to crop like I need to. Originally I was looking at the Olympus C8080 and Nikon C8800. I've been reading reviews and I just don't think I want to spend that kind of money considering how many people are having problems with the focusing and things. I like the features on the Nikon the most, with 15 scene selections, 10x optical zoom, remote, flip LCD, image stabilization, good macro, automatic or manual settings and the ability to add lenses and flash. Also liked the Olympus, but would like more zoom and scene selections.