Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 23, 2005, 6:23 AM   #1
Super Moderator

Some of you know me.. :-)

I'm looking to get a better camera for my wife. She's not a keen photographer and frankly has no interest in the equipment side of things.

Having said that however she has an astonishing natural talent for visual imagery. She's a film editor by trade and I guess years of cutting images by some really excellent DOPs has left its mark. Though back when she was a student studying media and journalism her few forays into photography were met with suggestions that a career in photojournalism would be a good idea - it just never appealed to her; she wanted to be in movies.

She frequently simply picks up a camera takes a shot and puts it down. My ratio of "keepers" is maybe 1 in 30 on a good day and 1 in 100 on a bad day. For her practically every shot she takes is a keeper.

That's why I figured the best thing for her would be something like a rangefinder with a 35mm or 40mm lens (in 35mm terms). But I am a huge digital fan, so I'd like it to be digital if at all possible for a reasonable price.

The only two cameras I've currently been able to find that seem to suit the bill are the Leica Digilux 2 (£1250) and the Epson RD1 (£2000 ex lens) and even a Voigtlander will add another £300 to that and a 2nd-hand Leica lens will probably run to £1000 with a new one at up to £2000.

I was wondering whether anyone had any other suggestions. Have I overlooked anything? A lower price point than the Digilux would be nice too.

Is there anything out there with:
1. A fast lens perhaps at around the f2.8 mark and reasonable ISO performance at up to 400. (Of course I'd happily trade that for decent ISO200 and an f2 lens.)
2. Zoom is unimportant, possibly even a hindrance if it adds to startup time, and could easily be omitted if the fixed focal length were in the 35mm-50mm range (equiv.)