Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 26, 2005, 4:37 PM   #1

Hi,:?

I'm happy to have recently joined this forum and give great KUDO's to this website!!!!

After lengthy research, reading so many reviews etc...I think (or at least I think) I've narrowed down my purchasing decision to the Canon G6, S1 or A95. I realize there are variances in the features. My confusion comes into what seems to be the big focus on the megapixel variance, the 3 vs. the 5 etc. I like the fact that the S1 has the 10x zoom, but am I sacrificing the megapixels that the G6 and the A95 have. I'm not a expert photographer but want a little more than just point and shoot without getting too overwhelmed.

I would LOVE anyone(s) opinion on which avenue to take!! If I'm offbase with just focusing on Canon than I welcome that feedback as well!!!

Thanks much!!

Deebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 26, 2005, 5:45 PM   #2
Administrator

The Canon G6 is going to be the nicest camera of the bunch between the models you're considering (brightest lens, lowest noise, hotshoe for an external flash, etc.). -- unless you need more optical zoom.

Of course, it's also the most money. ;-)

As far as Megapixels, I wouldn't let that be a deciding factor unless large prints are needed. Even 3 Megapixels is plenty for prints up to about 8x10".

However, you do have a lot of differences other than Megapixels between these models... For example, the S1 IS is the only one with a stabilized zoom lens, and it's got a much longer lens (more magnification) compared to the others. However, one of it's weaknesses is that it does not have an Autofocus Assist Lamp (which can mean it has more difficulty focusing indoors).

I'd give a lot of thought to how you want to use a camera (indoor photos, outdoor photos of wildlife, etc.) to help you decide how much optical zoom you really need.