Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 12, 2005, 6:03 AM   #1

Hi guys!

I am new at DC's, so dont over-estimate my knowledge!

I am absolutely in love :? with the Kodak DX 7590 and am looking to buy myself one. But... I checked the sample photos on Steve's reviews, and compared them to those of the Fuji s5100. I found those of the Fuji to be much sharper with much more detail.

Is it really like that, or could it just be that different apertures were used and the one got more detail in that the other? I found this with almost all of the photo's though.

Just wondering. Please help!!!
Thanks

Madré
mads is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 12, 2005, 12:04 PM   #2

Check the samples at this site.

http://www.dcresource.com/reviews
hakaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2005, 5:28 PM   #3

Mads,

I too had considered the Kodak (among a few others)prior to buying the Fuji S5100. One of the main reasons was the fit in my hand, or the lack thereof. I have long fingers, and I could not hold the DX 7590 comfortably. Check these links, then scroll down until you reach the overhead view of the camera. Compare the distance between the battery case and the lens.

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2004_...uji_s5100.html

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/DX7590/DX75A.HTM

I can wrap my hand around the battery compartment on the S5100, but could not on the 7590 - there's just no room for fingertips. I can hold, turn on, focus and shoot my S5100 with one hand...I could not with the 7590 (afraid of dropping it). Something else to consider - make sure you test drive before you buy.

the Hun
rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2005, 8:06 PM   #4