Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 17, 2005, 12:05 PM   #1

Hi everyone. Newbie here.

I'd like to get some expert opinion on what camera I should look into. I'm looking to buy a new camera hopefully within the next month or so. The cameras I've narrowed my choices to are the following:

Panasonic FZ20/FZ5

Minolta Z5

Kodak Z740

My camera will mostly be used to take pics of my newborn and all of his firsts. The camera will also be used for family get togethers, holidays, and special occasions. What I'm really looking for in this camera, is a very good zoom and good quality pics. Now I know some of you are probably thinking I should just go with a point and shoot for what I'm looking for, but I searched those cameras and wasn't impressed. I'd rather spend the additional $150+ and buy a good camera now then kick myself later on because I settled for something else.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Rafael

Jedi5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 17, 2005, 12:58 PM   #2

I understand you want a camera that takes great pics, but I have problems understanding why you want an ultrazoom camera ? Seems sort of overkill for pictures of your newborn... I can see the ultrazoom being used MAYBE for holidays or special occasions, which seems like quite rarely.

I'd say you could go with a camera with less zoom and if you want a top notch camera, perhaps go for a G6, it has a very fast lens at wide angle which may enable u not to use the flash in certain situations. It probably takes better pictures than any of the cameras you mentionned, its equally bulky. The difference is that at telephoto it goes to 140mm. Its not just a point and shoot, it has a ton of manual controls.