Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 17, 2005, 8:47 PM   #1

Hello, I just got into the dig SLR field about six months ago. I am now running my own photo site and needed to add a digital camera to equipment (besides my little Kodak). I went with the Rebel EOS, mainly because of cost and because I could use my Canon lenses. Well, I am started to wonder if I should have gone for a better camera. The camera does well as long as I keep the prints relatively small. I'm still learning the digital lingo, but the raw tiffs are 600 dpi. I want to be able to produce magazine cover material etc and I'm still not sure if this camera can do that. From what I can tell from 12x18 prints, they look good, but when I look at the photo stats, the image says it's only 3x5 at 600 dpi.

I'm probably not making sense here, so here are my questions.

What are the limits of the Digital rebel?

How large can a print be made at 300 dpi?

Can I just change the dpi to 300+?

JPG, even large format look bad printed out, do I need to change the DPI before I print them?

I was told when I bought the camera that you can blow up these images to 24x36 no problem, not I'm not sure now. You can now get the new rebel with 2 more megapixles for about the same price I paid six months ago, is that camera that much different?

Should I cut my losses and get into a 20D or something or wait it out and make this a second camera in a year or so?

Thanks in advance for any help here!
KCMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 18, 2005, 12:42 AM   #2

The Rebel's top quality pics have a resolution of 3072 X 2048. If you demand 300 DPI pics, you could get a max of about 8 X 10". I don't know of anybody who needs 600 DPI. I am not sure that even using a magnifying glass you could notice much difference in detail between 300 DPI and 600 DPI. I find 200 DPI quite enough for me.