Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 20, 2005, 12:43 AM   #1

Hi,

I am a newbie looking to purchase a quality digital camera at a price of around $300. While I have little experience with cameras, I am eager to use my new camera often. I take daily walks each morning on nature trails. This is where I would get most of my use at first, taking pictures of birds and other wildlife. I also attend concerts and sporting events a couple times a month where I would like to use my camera as well. Lastly, I plan to take vacations annually where I hope to scuba dive. I want to purchase a camera that can go 100 feet underwater for these adventures. From what I know, I will need an underwater housing to accomplish this.

Some people tell me to focus mostly on getting a 10X zoom while others say its most important to have at least 5 megapixels.

I am open to any feedback and advice people have. I have a lot to learn. I just want this investment to be something that will last me 5 years or so, be user friendly, and be flexible enough to take quality pictures in various situations including 1) nature 2) concerts 3) sporting events 4) underwater. Oh, and being small enough to fit comfortably in a pocket is a great upside for me.
joenorwood77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 20, 2005, 1:14 AM   #2

There's one camera that meets all of your requirments except for the "pocket" size. That would be the Panasonic FZ-20. 5MP, great quality Leica 12X Image Stabalized Zoom lens, it has a hotshoe for expanded flash capabilities. Useable movie mode, nothing to write home there about. Goto Steves-digicams.com main menu, and look it up at the camera reviews section.

You will not be upset... you have to get a larger camera to get the quality/zoom you want.

I can highly recommend this camera, as I have many friends who trusted me on it and are extremely happy.

-tlmiller10
tlmiller10 is offline   Reply With Quote