Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 28, 2005, 1:39 AM   #1

Hello, well I have gone through a lot of posts but, Im going to ask. What camera would best fit my need?
Im not a professional, but I am the one the family comes to, to figure out anything electronic/digital.
Now I am a Novice, I have never even taken classes. But I am a very fast learner and good with electronics.

I want a great Optical zoom, for ballgames, car races, ect.
I will take a lot of pictures inside, (just had a baby boy)
I have most of my pictures printed from my printer at home, (I dont know if this helps.)
My budget is no more than $600, but less would be better.
As for video it dont matter, would be nice but not necessary.
I would like to be able to recharge my own batteries, unless there are batteries that last a long time unlike my camera now.
I like the LCD screen, but again not necessary.

I love taking photo's and I want them to look good. If there is anything else I need to consider, please give me a crash course or send me a link.
Now I also need this camera to be "Wife freindly". ( she needs to be able to at least take pictures ) Plus Mothers day is comming up, it will be a present for both of us.

My current camera is a 2.1MP Olympus Camedia C-21 It is getting old and it takes like 8 seconds before i can take another picture after one another. So Speed is something I really would like to have. Anyway I hope this is enough info to get me headed in the right direction. Thank you all very much!
Subnet76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 28, 2005, 1:57 PM   #2

any input?
Old Apr 28, 2005, 11:26 PM   #3

A couple of suggestions: Go to the "Best Cameras" section of this website and scroll down to the "Super Zoom" list. Check out some of those. I've had experience with the Olympus and love it, but this list will give you others to look at as well.