Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 1, 2005, 12:07 AM   #1

I need help on choosing between these two cameras or a comparable one, if as many as possible would be so kind. I am far from a professional. This will only be my 2nd digital camera. I'm a mother of two, so I take a lot of pictures of my kids in the pool, proms, football, etc. Though I usually use a video camera for football games. I also sell some of my daughter's clothes on Ebay sometimes, so indoor pictures were important to me. That's one of the reasons I chose these two cameras. I liked a review on the DX7440 b/c it showed no redeyes on their test for that. Some of the other features I liked on these are:

*Both good video * both are pretty idiot proof * both have manual controls in case the idiot grows in intelligence of photography, Lens conversions, etc. * both have big LCD displays * one or both had a flash you could add to it

I've read good and bad, of course, with both. I read a lot of users had problems with Sony having blurry pictures and the Kodak shows dust in some pictures in the house. I was getting ready, in fact, to go for the Kodak when I read that one a few times from different people. It probably, of course, has a lot to do with the picture taker.

Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
DSWInUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 1, 2005, 12:41 AM   #2

Hi DSW:I assume your price point is around the cost of the Kodak or Sony??

Based on your level of experience and planned use, you should get an Olympus D-595. Compared to the Kodak: better photo quality, 5 MP vs. the Kodak 4MP, greater resolution, much better for close in macro work, 15 scene programs which is very, very, helpful for the inexperienced photographer, more compact and weighs much less so it's easier to carry, and it uses plain old AA batteries while the Kodak uses an expensive Lithium-Ion battery.