Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 5, 2005, 8:45 AM   #1

I am down to two cameras now tpo buy my mother, the Fujifilm E550 and Canon Powershot A520. They both do a very good job at what they're meant for and despite a few flaws I'd be pretty happy with either but just to help me scale the final hurdle can someone with xperience of either let me know their suggestion.

Other models can be thrown into the fire, geez I've thought about the Canon powershot SD500, Canon Powershot A95 etc etc

I don't want the Panasonic's or the Fuji S7000's etc as they are too bulky, I want to get a handysized camera.
Fussybuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 5, 2005, 12:54 PM   #2

I have been using my E550 for the past 4 months.
Takes a great picture IMO. Not to bulky. The camrea is set for 6mp from fuji.I have take pics from 2mp to 12mp.The flash is good for close ups but will not light up a room.
This camera powers up fast and can take pictures fast.
Outside the LCD is not to good. Need to shade it to see what you want to shoot. Have three children and I can capture them just fine.
Hope this Helps.
Kev
KEV61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2005, 2:23 PM   #3

The Fuji E550 is slow, useless in low light, noisy, and uses pricy xD cards. The Canon 520, SD300 or the Sony DSCW5 are all better purchases.
chrisdsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2005, 4:46 PM   #4