Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 8, 2005, 12:39 PM   #1

Hi,

I posted once here and Steve was kind enough to suggest I buy an Olympus D-595. I really appreciated the advice, but this camera is really new and I need to buy one that has a lot of consumer opinions as well as professional; plus, it lacks some of the things I wanted. I'm a single mom of two and I can't afford to take the risk of buying a camera that no one has used for a while to rule out long-term use problems. So, anyone and everyone's advice on this major purchase for me would be greatly appreciated.

As I said, I was leaning more towards the Kodak DX7440, but then saw a lot of people complaining about it picking up the dust in the air on taking pictures inside. I am far from a professional, but would like to learn more about photography eventually.

Here's what I would like to have in a camera:

*Price range of 0-$250; could go as much as around $270-$280, though, if I have to.

*Takes great pictures, of course, especially inside pictures. Some cameras take really dark pictures inside and I'm trying to find one that does a great job inside for various reasons.

*No redeye, or as little as possible. Like I said, I am no expert and this seems to be a problem with my picture taking abilities...or lack thereof. The Kodak DX7440 did an awesome job in this category. People say you can eliminate the redeye with software, but I have never been able to do this.

*Must be capable of using regular batteries, too.

*Automatic everything with manual controls also so I can grow in using it.

*Conversion lenses

*Big LCD, or one that you can see well in sunlight

*Would be great to have a built-in lens cover, but not mandatory.

*Want one that is at least capable of video for 20 to 30 minutes.

*AF-assist lamp

*External flash support would be nice, but not mandatory

*One I can plug into the TV and watch

*At least a 3X Optical lens