Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 15, 2005, 1:42 PM   #1

After a 15 year absence I am getting back into the "habit." My last experience was with a Mamiya 645, Omega 4X5 and Nikon F4S. That being said, I have quite a few Nikon AF lenses. My first instinct is to go to the Nikon F70s body. I have very little prior digital experience, so be gentle. Comments?
Back At It is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 15, 2005, 2:39 PM   #2
Super Moderator

if you want to stick with the nikon system.. you can't go wrong with the d70/d70s.. if you can find a d70 on sale, you can upgrade the firmware so that its af system is similar to the new d70s.. but the d70s will have a larger screen.. otherwise not much difference btwn the two..

welcome back friend, dustin
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 3:01 PM   #3
Administrator

Check on eBay for a used Nikon D100, they are even cheaper than D70 and a very capable digital body for your Nikon lenses. Those lenses will work on any Nikon digital SLR so it just depends on how much money you want to spend on the body.
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 7:06 PM   #4

How does the D100 compare with the D70s? Also, how much difference would there be between a 6 and 8 MP camera?
Old May 15, 2005, 7:12 PM   #5

Thanks for the welcome back. Alot has changed in 15 years. I got back in by accident, taking marketing mtl. for product. I had forgotten how much fun you can have taking pictures!!

Thanks again, Rob
Old May 15, 2005, 7:22 PM   #6
Super Moderator