Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 24, 2005, 1:15 PM   #1

Hi,
I am new in here and would like to hear your opinion on what camera is the best one for a month in the wilderness, no electricity and a lot of zooming needed. Also I am no photo expert so ease of use would be a issue.
Apreciate your help and comments.
Sjonni
sjonnib is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2005, 6:35 PM   #2

How many megapixels do you need?

Do you want a fixed-lens camera, or is the type where you can interchange lenses ok with you?

Do you have a budget?

PhilR.
PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2005, 10:56 PM   #3

Here is an other thread about an Africa trip:
http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...19&forum_id=87

1st, you need to figure out what you are trying to photograph - will a 3x optical zoom, ~35mm to 90mm, do or do you need 10x or 12x zoom, ~35mm to 300mm or 400mm.
Then how bulky a camera you want to carry or should it be small so you can hide it on you and sleep with it.

2nd, you are stuck with a camera that uses AA power, preferably 2 AA batteries so you have to carry half as many batteries. You might be able to use a solar battery recharger for AA batteries/other batteries. www.SierraTradingPost.com is remaindering the Brunton Solarport 2.22 Watt solar power source/AA battery recharger and I am pleased with the one I have.

In summary, you are probably looking at a Canon in the compact type or Fuji, older Olympus, in the super zoom type.

3rd, you have to test and see how low a resolution you can live with so you know how many memory cards to buy. Think about carrying a multi format card reader and some CDs in case you can get access to a computer to download images and make a CD.

nigel
nigeldh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2005, 12:06 PM   #4

Hi PhilR and Nigel