Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 26, 2005, 5:22 PM   #1

Hi folks, I've read many posts on here as well as Steve's reviewsand was wanting a little more info, if you please. Looking for a good all around camera w/ 10-12x zoom. I'm definately going to choose either a pana or kodak. I would appreciate any input. I am a beginner but I believe photography is a hobby I would really enjoy therefor I am willing to spend a fair amount of $ for something a little better than a "basic model" though I dont need anything near a pro camera and price is a concern. I believe I would use this camera for a little bit of everything... my youngsters, wildlife (which is why i want the zoom), outdoor sporting events, various landscapes, portraits,and even some macro pics.

I guess I'm just looking for more input on either of these 2 manufactures. Since kodak has been making cameras for so long and they sell so many, I feela little more comfortable buying one.

I'm thinking I want 1 of the following...fz5, fz20, 6490, 7590, or the z740. The 6490 is just a little more than half the price of the fz20 but seems kinda limited.Also I may later want to add lenses and an external flash. Is the fz20 my only option here? What about manual focus, how important is it?Getting the photo from the camera to the computer w/ ease is also inportant. Seems like w/ a name like easyshare this would be a good choice, howeveris the pana's system easy to manipulate?

username99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2005, 5:59 PM   #2

Between Pany and Kodak, there is no contest. Pany's have faster lenses, image stabilization, a tiny bit more zoom,and IMO much better ergonomics. The Kodak's -- hmm.... they have a bigger lcd.

You just have to decide if you whether or not need manual focus and a hotshoe....

PhilR.

PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2005, 6:49 PM   #3