Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 27, 2005, 2:53 AM   #1

Ok, I have decided that it is time to invest in a digital SLR. I have been an amature photographer for about 4 years. I am a B&W film photographer, and I usually use my Nikon FM2 (ocasional medium format as well). But it is time to pick up a digital for those color shots I have been dying for.

Let me start this out with this: I am a SERIOUS photographer. Photography is my life. I have recently seen some rather amazing color photography, and have wanted to branch into it (still am somewhat biased to it... but what better way to get to know it more?!). Plus, it is hard to find labs to develope my film in during the summer, and soon will be even harder.

I photograph most types: nature, portraits, architecture (ocasionally), emotive, infrared, macro(plan on getting more into this). And probably 10 more genres that I can't remember.

So here is the question.

What type of digital SLR would best suite a photographer such as myself? I am used to film quality, developed and printed in a darkroom (I do it all, of course). I want something that will give me superb quality in the image, and a camera that will last and wont be outdated in a year. I would like a range of shutter speeds, and apertures as well (though as I have said, I'm not to familiar with digitals, so I don't know much about options here). I couldn't care less about preset scene modes. I of course do it all manually.

Lastly, I don't want to spend a fortune. I need quality, not features. I don't want to spend more than.... a grand I would say (and thats probably pushing it too). I would like the most for my money, and want to stay as low as possible.

So what does anyone suggest? I've seen the Nikon D70 appearing just about everywhere. Plus after my FM2 purchase, I'd trust Nikon with my life.