Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 30, 2005, 8:08 PM   #1

Purchased the Maxxum 7D because I have Minolta-compatible Quantaray lenses. But I am considering returning it for the Rebel XT. I am a novice, not familiar (yet) with anything other than automatic settings. I want the best picture I can get, sharpness, color, etc, and I don't care which camera gives it to me, I will get it. I have TWO DAYS left to return the 7D! Is there anyone who can talk me into keeping the 7D, or into getting the Rebel XT?
Jacqueaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 31, 2005, 9:06 AM   #2

If you prefer your advice from strangers on the Internet, then here goes. I see only a few points worth considering. There are other minor +/- aspects of both cameras, but none are deal breakers.

1. Keep the 7D. All your lenses will now be image stabilized. If you have long lenses--135mm or more, especially--the Minolta anti-shake will work near miracles for hand-held photography.

Presumably, you had a Minolta film SLR before this, so much about the camera and its controls should seem familiar. Everything about the Canon will seem alien to you, at least at first.

2. Take back the 7D and get the Rebel XT. It has 8MP.

You didn't specify how many and what focal length lenses you have, so it is impossible to judge their value in this equation. If it were a bunch of Minolta lenses, that would be one thing. However, Quantaray isn't exactly Mercedes Benz of optical brands, so your lost investment may not be that much, if you switched to Canon.