Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 1, 2005, 10:43 AM   #1

Hi and thanks for reading.

I've got my first job as a reporter in a couple of weeks for a martial arts tournament and want to get a good quality camera which will last me a good 2 years+

The pictures I take will be placed on websites. The venues are normally indoors in dim light but the 'action' will be taking place in a lit ring.

I'm looking at spending up to $500 but as I've never done any photography before want a camera I can just 'point and shoot'.

It needs to produce high quality images and be able to take high speed shots as the fighters can be very 'animated'. Also I want it to be able to take a series of shots in very fast succession by me just holding down the button or something.

FinallyI need one with a good optical zoom as sometimes when the fighters enter the arena they could be up to 75 meters away.

Could you offer me some advice on this.

Many thanks!!
Swerve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 1, 2005, 10:58 AM   #2
Administrator

Quote:
It needs to produce high quality images and be able to take high speed shots as the fighters can be very 'animated'. Also I want it to be able to take a series of shots in very fast succession by me just holding down the button or something.

FinallyI need one with a good optical zoom as sometimes when the fighters enter the arena they could be up to 75 meters away.
Your shutter speeds will most likely be too slow to get many usable photos indoors in low light (and a well litring is probably gong to be low light to a camera).

If you can use a powerful external flash (which may be distracting to the contestants and not allowed), and get close enough, that would help (the flash burst itself can have the impact of freezing the action, depending on your settings, since the subject is not illuminated well enough except during the flash burst).