Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 2, 2005, 10:06 PM   #1

I'm just getting started and I want a good SLR and ideas....pretty easy, huh?
sfusco91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 3, 2005, 1:01 AM   #2
Super Moderator

well, i shoot canon's... so of course my recomendation is the rebel xt/350d.. not only because i am partial to canon but also because imho it is about a half to full generation above the current crop of consumer dslrs.. but by all means get down to your local camera store and try them all out and see what one fits best for you..

to start with i would get the kit lens.. it is small and lightweight, but is reasonably sharp for the price.. (only 100USD more for the kit).. use this lens for a few months and then evaluate your needs for your next lens.. that could help you from regretting an impulse buy that doesn't fit the type of pics you take..

you will also need a cf card.. i would recommend a 1gb lexar professional, sandisk ultra II or extreme III at the very least.. a 2gb is nice and 2 1gbs is even better..

spare battery is nice, but not necessary unless you are planning to be away from a plugin for extended periods of time or plan to shoot more than 400 pics during a single session..

some ppl use a skylight1a or a haze filter over their lens at all times for protection, others don't use em at all.. your call

get a nice camera bag.. make sure its big enough to grow into..

make sure you pick up a book on post-processing.. you will need to know a little bit about using unsharp mask and doing some level adjustments to make the most out of the pictures that come out of a dslr.. just a warning- they will be softer and less contrasty than a digicam.. that is on purpose and allows you to take control of your image better later on.. i am notsure what program comes with the rebel xt, i hope its still photoshop elements..