Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 11, 2005, 10:47 AM   #1

I'm in a purchasing decision in terms of the D50 versus D70 right now, as I am new to the world of DSLR. Due to the rebate and price drop on the D70, both can be had for about the same price of $900.

My question for everyone is in regard to noise differences between the D70 and D50. Many may have already seen it, but a D50 versus D70s Japanese review came out and the D50 looks pretty impressive as it clearly has lower noise at higher ISO's than both the D70s and Rebel XT. This is subjective of course depending on the review, but taken at face value again is pretty impressive. The in-camera processing also is very effective, but is this preferred?

Would this lessoning of noise be a reason to seriously look at the D50? With less noise does the photo lose anything in exchange? Can I still perform all of the post processing on PS with the D50 in the same fashion as the D70, despite the D50's in camera processing?

Thanks for all input!

cmvsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 12, 2005, 2:13 PM   #2
Administrator

I saw the comparison photos you looked at, and I'm not convinced that there's that much difference yet. The photos from the D50 appear to have been exposed brighter (which will impact noise), and the camera's default processing appears to be tuned differently from the manufacturer.

Since this camera (D50) is not shipping here yet, it's kind of hard to give an opinion on how they compare.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2005, 2:17 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply Jim. Any idea when the D50 will have a formal review? Is it usually before or after the release date? Thanks!
Old Jun 12, 2005, 2:30 PM   #4
Administrator

I have no idea when Steve will get the D50 for review (he does not have one yet).