Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 12, 2005, 3:55 PM   #1

Hello, All!

I am looking to buy a digital camera and I am feeling woefully unprepared to even head out to the store and ask. I don't want to end up with more than I need. And quite frankly, I don't even know where to start. :?

I will be taking pictures of animals, moving and standing still (well, as still as they can be anyhow); Nature shots; people pictures; pictures with me holding still and me on the back of a horse trail riding; pictures to paint from;etc.

Simple is best for me. I don't need anything SUPER fancy as I am not a professional, merely an amatuer getting tired of disposable cameras. I would like something with an LCD screen, but tons of special features I really don't need. Some detail work. Mainly, though, I have to say ease of use is extremely important. I would like to be able to take short movie films. Something that is kind of sturdy, but not too bulky. I need to be able to carry it with me on horseback and not have it be a huge pack to carry. Something I can put in a tough carry case and put it in my saddle bag or hang around my neck.

I've been told that optical is better than digital zoom. Don't get less than 3.0. Don't get less than 5.0. Get digital zoom. I need this and that. GAH!!! Needless to say, at this point in my clueless state, I am a commision sales person's dream come true. :shock:

Help?
hoofservant is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 12, 2005, 4:20 PM   #2

If you look at the first entry on this forum topic it says "Steve's Digicam Buyer's Guide", and if you click on it, there is a link for "Best Cameras". I found that information extremely helpful in deciding on a camera for my purposes. Check it out.
mes444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2005, 5:34 PM   #3

hoofservant,