Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 15, 2005, 11:38 AM   #1

I've been selected as one of the unofficial photographers of my daughters basketball team but found out this weekend that my Nikon 5000 is the wrong camera for such. I'm looking for a digital SLR that can handle the fast past games along with my son's surfing events. I have been using digital cameras for about 5 years and have a good basic understanding, but have never ventured into the digital SLR relm. Any suggestions from those with experience shooting these type of events would be greatly appreciated.
WCOWBOY80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 15, 2005, 12:21 PM   #2

I own the Canon 20D which is a great DSLR. The low noise at higher ISOs will be of great benefit at a basketball game. However, you also have to find a fast lens. The 5 frames per second also help with the action of sporting events. The almost instant on for the camera will also be helpful. Your budget should include some quality lens. Look in the Canon DSLR lens section for some suggestions.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2005, 12:25 PM   #3

IMHO, if we are just considering SPORTS photography, here are the critical components of the BODY (note, not the lense - just the body):

1. High ISO Performance. Especially indoors you will find yourself using ISO 1600 or 3200 a lot - you need to get decent quality photos at these high ISOs. You'll still need to run through noise reduction software but you need a good quality image to start with.