Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 16, 2005, 12:40 AM   #1

Howdy y'all. I've owned a Sony MVC-FD73 (one of those old floppy-drive digital cameras) and it's time for an upgrade. The old .3 MegaPixels just isn't cutting it anymore :O

I've been reading plenty of reviews and doing my research and I've decided I want to go with a Digital SLR. The problem is, I don't know what to go for.

I'm looking for something versatile for starters, something can do nice landscape shots, action shots, up-close shots, etc etc.

The biggest appeal of the DSLR for me is the lack of shutter lag. I hate pressing a button to take a picture and losing a great shot of my dogs playing to the delay. However, the relatively high price of a DSLR is very prohibitive to me. I'm a pretty broke college student so the best I can swing is about $1,000 for the entire set-up. Please note that I also would need a new printer to do photos (that's all it'd be used for, I have anyone printer that works just fine for text). I've heard great things about the Canon Rebel XT, but the price of the camera alone is practically $1,000, excluding the printer I'll need.

I guess I should ask, is it really worth going the DSLR route? I'm trying to get into photography as a hobby but the thought of dropping a grand on a camera and accessories scares the living hell out of me. It'd pretty much drain my bank account.

The other camera I hear good things about is the Nikon D50. I know Nikon makes damn good glass so they're a contender as well.

Is the original Canon Rebel worth a try? It's much cheaper than any other DSLR but I'd also be sacrificing around 2 MegaPixels as well. Would such a decline be a huge detriment to image quality?

What do y'all recommend? Thanks!
roboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 16, 2005, 1:12 AM   #2

Howdy,