Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 22, 2005, 1:24 AM   #1

Hi. I normally take cheapy photos. I have a Kodak Easy Share digital and it has been nice for someone that is not very good with cameras but now I want something better. I hope maybe someone on here can help me.

I want good quality photos. I don't want ot spend thousnads of dollars on a camera only becaue I am no pro photographer. Maybe later when I get the hang of it then i will invest in something that pricey.

My photos are mainly of my family and of outdoor life. I love taking photos of wildlife and nature.

What kind of camera would you advise me to get? I have seen great reviews for the Nikon D70 but I am afraid to get soemthing that expensive and I have no knowledge of such a high grade camera. I do want the pictures to come out clear and look somewhat professional....at least enough to mount in my scrapbooks and into an album to show off deer to buyers.

Any suggestions?

Sorry I misspelled my title thread (professional)

roni624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 22, 2005, 7:07 AM   #2

Well, I'm also looking to buy a new camera. While being far from an expert, I think the Cannon S2 IS would suit you. Thats what I decided to get myself.

12x Zoom, 5 MP. It can also take addon lenses, so you can upgrade later if you want something better.

While it seems to have some (very few) imaging problems, that wont affect you during daylight. (I think)

I think its about $500. Seen it advertised online for about $450.
Carrots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2005, 6:37 PM   #3

If you wanted something with more of a professional feel than the S2 IS but for the same price you might want to check out the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ20. It has great reviews and is in the same price range as the S2. It is a 5 MP sensor and 12x Zoom, and is close to the most of the Canon's specs. It does give a much more professional feel and look...