Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 23, 2005, 10:22 PM   #1

Thinking seriously about dropping $400+ on this Canon, but would like to hear from some owners first. Are you glad you bought it (or not)? The main appeal seems to be ease of use for those not interested in much besides point an shoot (the missus), along with the ability to shoot RAW with shutter and aperture priorities (me). In other words, somthing for everyone. So, is this camera a good replacement for my mediocre Olympus C-720 UZ? TIA!
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 23, 2005, 10:33 PM   #2

Don't know anyting about your old camera but I have a S70 and think it takes good pictures, I'm new to the manual settings so I can't be any help there but it does great in the auto mode for snapshot pictures. Ron
kazman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 11:07 PM   #3

Well, I (unfortunately) know too much about my camera, which is why I am looking to replace it. My rule of thumb has always been 'would I buy it again?' So, would you? Anything about it bug you? Thanks.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2005, 5:32 AM   #4

Well I had a S40 for a few years and was happy with that so I bought the S70 when it came time to get a new camera. I like the size of it and the placemnet of the buttons. I like that it has a lense cover and you don't have lens cap to fool with. Ron
kazman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2005, 8:45 AM   #5

I don't own either the S70 or C-720, but I've owned the C-700 and C-740 before and still use an S30.

I think you'll find that the pictures will look much cleaner in an S70 than in your C-720. Also, if you take many landscape, architecture or indoors pictures, you'll find that you're able to fit much more into the picture thanks to the wide angle lens (The S70 will give you a more than 30% wider view).