Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 2, 2005, 10:16 AM   #1

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum.I'm looking to buy a ultra compact 5MP digital camera.I've been lending towards the Kodak until i read a thread on this board about the S500, I guess the only drawback to the casio is no optical zoom during movie mode but I don't think I'll need it that often.* Price wise, I believe the Canon and Kodak are the cheapest with Sony T7 being the most expensive (on top of their ridiculous memory).I'm not a professional or anything...I dont think I can tell the noise and all that stuff.....any opinion on these cameras would be appreciatedthanks guys
cashrevert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 2, 2005, 12:22 PM   #2

Welcome to the board.

The T7 has too puny a flash IMO. 5 feet at wide, decreasing in range with telephoto just isn't enough for anything but head and shoulder shots.

You don't seem to need an optical viewfinder based on your choices, but I like having one. There are times when it is hard to see the LCD in bright sunlight and it is easier to acquire a target quickly with the optical finder.

If you want a really tiny sexy camera with no optical finder, the S500 has a useable flash and I don't see anything else the T7 is superior at. Casio makes good use of the permanent memory rather than provide a throw-away starter card. The dpreview specs show an 8.3Mb card included, but I am pretty sure that is the internal memory. You can store a large permanent photo album in the internal memory to show on the nice LCD.

The future movie mode is great. You can wait for something to happen and then press record. It records the previous 5 seconds and continues recording until you stop it. So you don't have to grind away waiting for the toddler to do that cute thing again or for the fish to jump.