Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 2, 2005, 2:36 PM   #1

A total newbie question here:

What digital camera paramethers should I consider for getting acceptable landscape shots in a normal daylight conditions (without extra equipment).

I'm considering 3-5mp 250-300$ range entry-level digital camera purchase & looking for professional advice to choose from several models.

Thanks
fl4sh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 2, 2005, 3:50 PM   #2

Any camera can do landscape shots, but some people find that a wide-angle lens helps. Of course, a wide-angle lens isn't as big a deal in digital photography, where one can use software to stitch multiple pics together. If you do decide to get a wide-angle, there isn't much to choose from in your price range, but the Fuji E500/510 will do what you need, and have manual exposure controls as well. Both of these features are quite rare in the ~$200 range.

PhilR.
PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2005, 4:46 PM   #3

Ok, I'll put it a different way.
Suppose you have 3 camera models in a same price range.
Is it possible to look @ their specs and say - this one would give better shots on open spaces because ...
Or it depends on specific model ?
Old Jul 3, 2005, 10:44 AM   #4

A wide angle lens is usefull - stitching often works, but not always and it does take time to do.

Almost all of the specs that are good for general photography are good for landscapes, but it is possible to point out the some things that are less important.

High ISO is not as important since you will most often be shooting in good light.

Wide aperature (small f/number) is not as important, again because you won't be frequently shooting in low light.

Fast response (low lag times) isn't important since your subject isn't likely to run away.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2005, 11:57 AM   #5

Thanks for replay !