Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 4, 2005, 10:09 PM   #1
bjh

An experienced SLR photographer, I have been using an Olympus C-50 for a couple of years.¬* It has lots of functions etc. but I'd like more versatility and quality.My choice has come down to one of these.¬*¬*My pictures fall mostly in the travel category¬* (landscapes, people, some macro, etc) and the usual day-to-day photos.¬*¬*

As you can appreciate, I already have 4 x 256 MB xD cards which I can use in the Olympus as-is and in the G6 with an $80 CDN adapter.The G6 costs $170 CDN more than the C-7070 and I'd have to buy a CF card: but then I'd likely buy a large capacity card for the 7070 too!

I should mention that I like the faster lens on the G6 and might enjoy the wider lens on the 7070.¬* ¬*Also, it appears that in the G6 one does not have to delve into layers of menus as often to switch among modes and functions.¬*

The¬*G6 stitch-assist seems more friendly than the Oly though with my C50 I sometimes stitch successfrully without using the panorama mode (which is only available on Olympus cards, not the Fuji cards).

Reviewers seem to think the G6 image quality is better.¬* Also, as with the 5060, reviewers seem to think that the 7070 colours are rather flat (though others say saturation etc. can be changed from the defaults).

A rather long-winded request for opinions on the Olympus 7070 vs the Canon G6. Would the G6 be worth the extra costs?

Thanks muchly,
B.
bjh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 5, 2005, 6:04 AM   #2
JFW

Hey there,

I am in the same process, myself...

I saw your question and know I read through a few threads with the same or similar questions... try this one... If I can find the other one(s), I'll paste those as well. This should get you started...

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...ghlight=C+7070