Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 7, 2005, 2:06 PM   #1

7/7/05: Reposting this.

7/6/05: Man, I can't believe I didn't get even one response to this post! That's the first time that ever happened. Moderators can you help me out? Thanks. -David

I was thinking about upgrading to an 8 megapixel camera...but most of their zooms are 7 or 8x. I wanted a new digital camerawith a longer zoom that is goodfor shooting sports, landscape, nature, etc. I am not a professional photographer....don't want a digital SLR, don't want separate lenses etc..or the expense of an SLR. I've read a lot about noise in 8 megapixel cameras, many reviews have said 5 megapixels is more than enough to be able to do cropping, and I do a bit. I hardly ever, however, print something in a 5x7 or 8x10 size..but it's nice to be able to do so.

I've looked at the Sony [highlight= #ffff88]DSC[/highlight]-[highlight= #88ffff]H1[/highlight] and it handles very nicely, I like the big 2.5" screen. Plus for the sony is I already have 1 GB of memory cards since I own a Cybershot [highlight= #ffff88]DSC[/highlight]-P10. It also, takes only 2 batteries and comes with a charger.

Haven't handled the Canon S2 yet, saw it's predecessor the S1 and it too seems nice. I really like an articulating LCD. I may not ever, or rarely use it....but it's nice I think to have that option. I also, though I rarely shoot video on my digital camera, like the reviews of the S2's enhanced movie mode which WILL zoom while shooting.

Steve's reviews are pretty evenly matched on these two cameras. I like the fact that both cameras have manual focus and many other manual options for me to "grow" into a better photographer.

Curious to get some other peoples thoughts on these 2 cameras.

Thanks!

David

dmargolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 8, 2005, 2:41 PM   #2

Hi David,