Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 15, 2005, 5:09 PM   #1
AWF

Hello! I've been reading digital camera reviews online, and this site is awesome. I feel a little overwhelmed though, and would really appreciate some help!

I wantto replace my non-digital Nikon SLR 8008s (great camera)and my old 2 Megapixel digital camera. I want to go all digital, and I want GREAT image quality. I have basic knowledge of photography and shot for my school paper in college, but I'm a little rusty.

My current obsession is to get a camera that will enable me to get beautiful portrait shots of my toddler son.Among other things, Ilike shots with low depth of field (blurred backgrounds), and I really need the ability to focus and light meter on something off center. I want to be able to do this focusing and light metering quickly and easily before my toddler son moves and I miss the picture! I may also take some travel shots of scenery, architecture, and family.

Some things I don't need are extreme macro ability, extreme telephoto ability, an SRL camera, or high-quality movies (I have a video camera). I also don't expect to be adding an external flash at any point. Fast shutter speeds, on the other hand, could come in handy with a toddler around!

I'd like a camera that is sturdy and feels reasonably solid in your hands, but is durable and not too bulky and heavy. I like the look of the Canon G6, but it is a bit expensive andit concerns me that it has a lens cap. This camera may get tossed in the diaper bag from time to time! I know the Canon can handle off-center focusing and light metering, but I'm not entirely clear on how it works and how easy it is.