Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 17, 2005, 10:54 AM   #1

As so many others do I am asking advice about buying a camera. I am bitten by the bug for a long zoom camera. I do travel abroad some and this is the reason I would like a long zoom. Often I think how nice it would be to be able to get closer to the subject. I want one that does well in the long zoom and also one that could handle art galleries and museums that do not allow flash. Not sure I would take much for action shots. Do like to take pictures of architecture when overseas.

I currently have a Oly 2040 and have had it for 3 or 4 years. As my name implies I am not very experienced with cameras. I chose this one because it was an automatic that one could grow into. Well, I haven't taken it out of automatic much yet but I am going to work on it.LOL.

I think a 3 or 4MP would be enough because I don't really want to make anything larger than an 8x10. Most all of my pictures are 4x6. But if I happen to get something outstanding an 8x10 would be nice. Movie mode is not high on the list. I guess I would still like a camera that has some growth potential but I am pretty much an out of the box person. I have read enough to know that ISis an issue with the super zoom. I probably won't use a tripod when I travel and sightsee, too much of a hassle to lug it around.