Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 21, 2005, 5:35 PM   #1

Hi,

I'm a newbie on this forum, and to DSLR's. I have had a couple of Digicams though - The Canon Digital Elph 100 (first version), and now I mostly use a Canon Pro90is (I have to admit, mostly in Automatic mode..)

So what am I looking for..;

My absolute top priority is to get great pictures of my baby girl (turns 1 year in a week!). I typically try to take pictures of her indoor, but with my current Pro90is, with poor results... Sometimes it cannot focus (No AF assist or anything..), giving me blurry pictures, sometimes I get grainy pictures, and usually, too dark for my liking.. With the Flash activated, I tend to overexpose my subject, and the the rest of the room gets unevenly lighted.. Granted, I'm a terrible photographer, but I think my equipment is impeding me as well..

I've read a lot of reviews, and I am kinda leaning towards the D50 (despite very few reviews online for some reason - yes I know it is brand new, but I still had expected more buzz..).

My reasons for leaning towards the D50;
1. The most user friendly DSLR? (Good for a Newbie..)
2. Good Noiselevels, even at 1600 ISO. Better than the Canon Rebel Xt, acording to one site.
3. Better 'reasonable' lense than the Canon XT. I would not go with the kit 18-55 though, rather go with 18-70 for added range and better fstop(?)
4. Performance seems adequate. I need something that can focus/snap way faster than my Pro 90-IS..... I know, it's better if it is faster than 2.5 frames/sec, but that seems good for my purpose, I don't plan on sports photography.

Downsides to the D50, in my opinion;
-"only" 6 Mpix
-No built in Image Stabilization.. (the KM 5D seems interesting...)
-Really expensive if I want to buy VR lenses (as opposed to Canon IS ones..) Question is if I really need it, especially for normal use..