Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 21, 2005, 7:46 PM   #1

Hi Everyone,

This is such a great website with a wonderful forum! (Thank you Steve!) I've been visiting this site and forum for months now, as well as a few other review sites. I have been readingthrough all the reviews and posts. I am finally ready to make my purchase, but I am stuck on a few different digital cameras. :?

I have a back injury and cannot make it out of the house, so it is hard to make such a big purchase without seeing the camera first. For this reason, I would really appreciate any advice, comments, or suggestions any of you might have for me.

I want to get a professional quality digital camera...Either a beginnerSLR or a high-end digital. I am an amateur photographer, but I have a lot of time on my hands and want to teach myself everything about photography. I plan to get really great at photography and would like to buy a camera that I could grow with.I don't want to get an amateur camera now then a professional camera later--I just want to get a professional quality camera now (well, as long as it isn't too much over $1,000.

The most importantfeatures I want are (in order of importance):

***Low shutter lag (I want the camera to capture the shot as soon as I click to capture...no lag...or as little lag as possible).
Minimal time from shot to shot.
I want to be able to manually adjust features...be able to get creative
I would like the camera to be as light as possibly can be, while still having all the features.
MP...as long as it's 5mp or higher.
A nice optical zoom would be nice, butI'm not too picky on that.
Price up to $1,000 (or a little over)but obviously, the lower, the better!

The cameras I am interested in are:

SLR:

Canon Digital Rebel XT

Nikon D70

Nikon D70S

High-End Digital Camera:

Canon PowerShot Pro1

Nikon 8800