Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 2, 2005, 7:49 AM   #1

hello I'm new here..
I'm trying to find a replacement/slight upgrade for my Oly C-5050 which unfortunately was stolen last week (together with lenses and other cameras). I quite liked this camera and hadn't been planning on buying another one until I could afford a decent dSLR (adding to, not replacing the Olympus) and so now I'm a bit at a loss..

I've been trying to get a bit of an overview as to whats available at the moment by reading through countless reviews and got rather confused in the process.

These are the cameras I've mainly been looking at:
Oly C-8080, Canon Pro1, Nikon 8800 , Konika Minolta Dimage A200..

and these are my main requirements / uses:

I'm a recent fine art graduate and will use the camera *a lot* doing reference shots for paintings, as well as travel and some sports photography and 'arty' photography in it's own right (ie. for good quality prints, not just reference); hence I need
  • a sturdy and practical camera that will withstand a lot of use[/*]
  • good res. / image quality for larger scale prints
    [/*]
  • reliable and fast auto functions for quick reference and action shots, as well as decent manual options (I'm still at a practicing stage with those though, so nothing too confusing)[/*]
  • generally little delay (start-up, focus, write time..)
    [/*]
  • sharp pictures in bad light and
    [/*]
  • some compensation for unsteadiness when not using a tripod would be good
    [/*]
  • a good zoom for air shows, wildlife etc,
    [/*]
  • but also wide angle for indoor shots (like aircraft museums etc)
    [/*]
  • and a good macro (preferably all built in, although I'd consider getting lens attachments)[/*]
  • preferably an optical viewfinder, although I'm sure I could get used to just a good LCD too[/*]
  • a good camera asap, as in this week, so no time to wait for upcoming models
    [/*]