Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 8, 2005, 4:24 AM   #1

What's a good price for the Nikon D50?
I am in Asia, and I found it for:
US$ 680 body
700 kit
from camera shops (can see and test) and take home at once.

My questions:

What do you think of the above prices?? Reasonable? I do not mind warranty issues.

Not sure whether I could get a better price in the US, but for sure it's much better than in Europe!

Japan, HK or Thailand might give me an even better price I guess, but I am not sure when I am passing by there next. I've seen higher lower prices on the internet but... If I add taxes and freight and after reading the reviews of some online shops I am somewhat skeptical.

I'm new to photography & Digital photography, so I am not sure I would even tell the difference between a good lens and a bad one right now, but thinking about the future, is it worth thinking ahead and worry about the lens? Will I go safe with the kit or shall I opt for D50 body plus another lens? Which do you recommend? My budget is around US$ 900 max. altogether. I do want to keep my camera for many years to come if possible, and make the most of it in most conditions.

Sorry for the many questions.

As many out there, I'm also considering also the Canon 350D... Looks pretty good.
Best prices:
US$ 800 kit

Again, as many said, I tried them in my hands, and I like the Nikon much better, but I was somewhat convinced by the many arguments around about the Canon's superiority.
Correct me if I am wrong, but Canon features:

-lower ISO (isn't this useful?)
-lower overall noise (is this the case?Can one easily tell)

-higher resolution and sharpness (I read bad reports on the kit lens for the Canon, that would affect sharpenss I believe?)
-good WB tuning

Cons:
-very uncomfortable in my hands (but I guess I'd get used to it...)
-slightly more expensive
-seems to require more photoshop to improve pics...

Where does the 50D stand out?