Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 25, 2005, 12:31 AM   #1

im lookingto buya stylish,fast, high quality camera in the following month.

The fx9 and sd550 are my top choices since they are coming out soon. I like the stabalizer the fx9 offers, but the sd550 might be overall better.

any advice will help. Even other models in the same category as those 2.Im not an expert in digi cams I just know the basics. My previous cam was a sony cybershot p10. It was ok, but i was always more impressed by other cameras performances than the p10's.

thanks
Norfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 25, 2005, 12:37 AM   #2

Both are solid choices however, you will save $100 + by buying the fx8 or sd500 as there are 99.5% the same without the premium price tag! Both are great - I have the FX7 although if you can afford the Canon, it has 7 MP vs 6
kimnicho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2005, 12:58 AM   #3

how is the speed of the fx7? and pic quality?
Old Aug 25, 2005, 5:14 AM   #4

Pic Quality is Awesome on the FX7-arguably better (slightly sharper) than the FX8. However, its speed is not. I actually had Both Cameras in my hand for a few days and compared pics - here's the link to that album....
http://kimnicho.smugmug.com/gallery/668809
Old Aug 25, 2005, 8:51 AM   #5

thanks kimnichothat link was nice. I know the fx9 will improve upon the fx8 in a few things like mp, LCD pixels(207,000 vs 117,000 of the fx9, 2 new scenes, venus engine plus, start up time accelerated, and a few minor other things. If I go with the fx9 I hope I can get a hold of the grey colored one. I think that the U.S. will only get silver and black.

What about the SD550? any one have any the SD500? how is the overall performance? I heard good things about the 500. I also heard some say the pics are grainy?

any other choices?
Old Aug 25, 2005, 10:04 AM   #6