Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 28, 2005, 7:54 PM   #1
RAL

I am in desperate need of a new digital camera. I am a mom who takes a ton of pictures of my kids. I currently have a Kodak 3.1 MP (as you can see I am a novice in the digital camera arena). I am willing to spend 350-550 even 600 for a good camera. They all sound so similar in the lingo and features but vary so much in cost. I do not trust the salespeople at the stores and I have been getting differing opinions from family and friends. I want a camera that provides high quality prints (I would like at least a 5mp) The largest print I print is8 x 10. I need a very short shutter lag- my kids move very fast I wnat as little as delay as possible when taking pictures of the kids or pets. I need a camera that does not blur when zoomed in or in low light or indoors. I am very confused about optical zoom (does the higher the optical zoom mean a longer shutter lag or am I totally off?) So far the cameras that have been recommeded to me are the Canon A95, S60 or 70, the G6, and the S2IS. I am so confused as which one is the best for my needs. I am just afraid to spend all the money and find out I purchased the wrong camera, one with problems, or a new better model is coming out next week and I should have waited. Please help me....I am a novice and need some expert advice. I really appreciate any advice. Thank you so much!
RAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 28, 2005, 10:57 PM   #2