Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 30, 2005, 2:42 PM   #1

Hey everyone,

I'm sorry if my question is rather silly, but I'm kind of new in digital photography and I don't know how to interpret different characteristics of cameras, yet. Colud you please help me a little bit on choosing a camera first? I thougt about Kodak Z740 for it's powerfull zoom ... do you think it's a good choise. Note that I'm not new in this domain.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Raducu
raducu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2005, 3:12 PM   #2
Administrator

Read the Conclusion Sections in the reviews here for any cameras you consider.

That's where you'll find things like Startup Time (how long it takes from when you turn on a camera until you can take a picture), Autofocus Speed (how long does it take to focus after you squeeze the shutter button), Autofocus Reliability (is it able to focus in low light, longer focal lengths, etc.), Cycle Times between Photos (how long after you take one photo do you have to wait to take another one), number of photos in a burst (if it has a burst mode, how many photos can you take before you need to wait on the camera to finish writing them to media before you can take more), Flash Strength, Image Quality indoors and outdoors, etc.

You'll also find things like Viewfinder and LCD usability discussed, along with lens quality (chromatic aberrations/purple fringing, corner softness, etc.).

Read the entire reviews to get an idea of a model's features, control layout, etc. But, make sure to read the Conclusion Section to find out how it stacks up. Of course, you'll find sample images for each camera reviewed here, too.

We also have a Best Cameras List where you'll find a list of cameras by type that have been deemed to be a good value compared toother similar models.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2005, 5:09 PM   #3