Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 6, 2005, 3:59 AM   #1

Hey everyone. I have been a point and shoot camera ethusiast for years. Recently I started playing with the features on a Canon S50 and Iread a lot of materials on photography.I am completely amazed by thepictures an advanced camera can take in proper hands.Now I'm really considering buying a dSLR and take weekend photography classes.

Basically Evolt E300 is a about $601 (from dell) with two lens kit. And D50 is $645 (from etronics)with one standard lens. I'm really trying to decide between the two. Over all it seems like Olympus is cheaper, and has extra zoom lens, it also has more features (including the dust remover) compared to Nikon. I don't really care about low light pictures. So initially I'm really leaning toward the Olympus.

However, one thing that really bothers me is all the D50 sample pictures from steves's review are superbly sharp and clear. The Olympus, despite the higher resolution, is much more fuzzy. I have comapred every possible pictures taken by steve and it seems D50 always look better by comparison,even with the pictures taken by Olympus with increased sharpness. I tried to photoshop the Olympus pictures to see if I can reproduce the same result as the Nikon, after some tries I decide the details are just not there to start with... Am I doing something wrong here?

Anyways, I really want to get Olympussince it seems to be abetter deal. But if Nikon just takes much better pictures, I'd rather have a Nikon.

leon3536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 6, 2005, 10:37 PM   #2

The olympus has problems with more noise than other dslr´s at higher iso´s. Thats enough for me to go for less noisy dslr.

themite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2005, 1:03 AM   #3

leon3536 wrote:
Quote: