Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 21, 2005, 7:58 PM   #1

Hi,

I am in the Midst of finally getting a digital camera. ( way overdue!!) Really would appreciate your suggestions on a good camera...

Prioritys: Has to have a good zoom ( way over 3x) Scenic, games etc.

Good Macro capibilities, and Very Important- 2-2.5 LCD screen for sure since I can't see these 1.5 to 1.8 sizes!!I would like something that has Manual capabilites, not just Point/Shoot since I see myself even though I am new at this, being able to adjust things on a Manual basis.. Budget- up to $500.00.... I would like to have this camera for a while and grow into it!!!
markstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 22, 2005, 8:33 AM   #2

The Sony CyberShot DSC H1 and the Panasonic Lumix DMC F20 and F5 are three cameras that meet your stated requirements. You should keep in mind that you will need a memory cardin addition to the camera as it ships from the manufacturer, and may well want at least a camera bag, too. So, if $500 is your max budget, you should plan on $100 being reserved for these. If you want a tripod, an external flash,and/or a spare battery, adjust the base camera cost accordingly. But you should be able to get a setup that will get you startedhappily within your budget.FWIW
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2005, 9:10 PM   #3

Funny you should mention those two.. They are exactly the ones I have been really checking out. I've been leaning twards the Panasonic but I like the new FZ30. with adjustable LCD screen etc.......
Old Sep 23, 2005, 10:58 PM   #4

If you think you can pick up a FZ30 and a minimum sized 512Mb high speed SD card on a budget of $500 I wish you luck. A 1Gig card holds only 11 minutes of best quality movies and at 4Mb per 8Mp shot I think a Gig is a better choice there as well. Even with a 1 Gig card you get only 54 raw shots – very inefficient raw mode.