Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 23, 2005, 9:55 PM   #1

Help!

I'm new to digital photography and I've been pouring over this website for weeks now trying to decide which camera to buy. I've got it narrowed down between the Nikon D50 and the Konica Minolta 5D. Thing is, since there aren't a lot of reviews outyet forthe 5D, I kinda have to base my decision on how well the 7D did.

One review of the7D in Cargo Magazine said:"The 3 frame-per-second drive mode lags when it moves from the sensor to the memory card. This ties up the camera after shooting a sequence of 9-12 shots, making it ill-suited for shooting sports. .."

Does anyone know if this is still an issue on the KM5D? Is there a better choice at this price level for shooting indoor basketballand outdoor tennis?

Thanks.
Kennybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 23, 2005, 11:25 PM   #2

Kennybob,

I have used burst modes on the Fuji FinePix S7000, the S5100, and the Pentax *ist DS to take pictures of sports, mostly major league baseball. I don't think any of them have burst modes as good as the camera you are considering. If you have a huge memory card and are shooting fast moving, big time pro sports, maybe youcould profit from a camera better and more expensivethan the 7D.

However, if you want to spend money on a fast shooter for a bit more money, try the Canon EOS-20.

One advantage that the 7D and 5D is built-in image stabilization, which lets you shoot at lower shutter speeds without blurring. That's very good for photographing sports, especially indoor sports.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2005, 2:26 AM   #3

"One advantage that the 7D and 5D is built-in image stabilization, which lets you shoot at lower shutter speeds without blurring. That's very good for photographing sports, especially indoor sports."