Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 25, 2005, 11:53 AM   #1

Hi all... been following the fourms for years, just lurched around and never posted. I just dropped my Sony W5 and it is no longer functional =( But on a brighter note I get to go shopping again! I loved my W5 but I am considering the W7 and the H1 (all Sony). My question is, is it better to go with higher res or a decent res with the super zoom of the H1? Thanks for your advice!
mossman! is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 26, 2005, 8:37 PM   #2

Well I'm far from an expert but I think it all depends on what you want to do with the camera or what it will be used for primarily.

Personally, I'd go for zoom (with stabilization). Unless you plan on printing large photos often (8x10 or greater) or submitting them for publication, etc. there is really no need for most consumers to go above 3 or 4 MPs.. and 5 is pretty much the standard now.
photocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2005, 10:44 PM   #3

mossman! wrote:
Quote:
Hi all... been following the fourms for years, just lurched around and never posted. I just dropped my Sony W5 and it is no longer functional =( But on a brighter note I get to go shopping again! I loved my W5 but I am considering the W7 and the H1 (all Sony). My question is, is it better to go with higher res or a decent res with the super zoom of the H1? Thanks for your advice!
IF you are willing to pay the weight & size penalty and/or carry a tripod, go for a big zoom. Alternatively get a smaller, lighter camera with lots of pixels (I've just got a 7Mp Casio EX-Z750), and use the pixels for zooming in, preferably later on, on your computer, but in-camera using digital zoom if you have to. If you get a little camera that goes in your pocket, you're more likely to have it with you when the 'once-in-a-lifetime' shot comes along.

Good shooting,

Alan T
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote