Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 30, 2005, 3:26 PM   #1

I am currently looking to upgrade from my Nikon coolpix 8700 to either the Nikon D70s or the Canon 20D. They both seem like great cameras, but time and time again I see the 20D refered to as an advanced dslr, while the D70 is described as a camera for Amateurs or beginners. I am currently a college student, so the price gap between the two is somewhat big. However, if the 20D were to truly work that much better, I would have no problem saving up a little extra. Im not worried about ease of use, size, or anything such as that, just which one will keep me satisfied while im still in school and take a better shot (2 or so years). I live in atlanta so most of the pictures I take are not exactly action shots, mostly buildings and people, but I do ocassionaly go to race tracks or college football games to take pictures (something that the 8700 wasnt great at).

I am somewhat torn, I have always used nikons, and havent had a single problem, but from what I read the 20D seems to truly be a much better camera.

Also, I dont plan to purchase this camera right away, probablly at the first of next year. From what I understand canon doesnt have anything planned to be in the price range I am looking at, but is there any news of Nikon releasing a camera that is a little closer to the quality of the 20D?

Thanks a lot, I have been reading the forums a lot lately and learning something new everyday.
pwain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 30, 2005, 3:57 PM   #2

You might be better off comparing the D70s with the DRebel 350XT (both are aimed at the same beginner DSLR market). I also think you will find the DRebel has most of the functionality & performance of the 20D, without the higher price tag.
Old Sep 30, 2005, 4:21 PM   #3

20D price is going down everywhere... or should go ... with the 5D now entering the market.