Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 1, 2005, 11:33 AM   #1

Hi there!

I'm looking for myfirstdigital camera :-)

After reading lots of reviews I've ended up stuck between the highly rated Canon SD500 & Casio Z750. I'm not looking to print larger then 8x10, probably most of the pictures will be 4x6 & 7x5. I've tried to find other ultra compacts with smaller MP but each seem to have short comings, no viewfinder, poor battery life so I find myself back at the above models.

With 7MP is this going to be a waste of equipment& money for me? Or is the image quality of these worth it? Like I've said I am a newbie so the camera will be intially a P&S but would like something to grow with!

Any advice would be great,

Thanks
napashock is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 1, 2005, 3:39 PM   #2

As one man's highly-prejudiced opinion, I bought the SD200 because I couldn't imagine more than 3.2 MPixels making any sense on an ultracompact. I have not felt that I needed more pixels for this camera than that. But I just use it as a snapshot camera -- its great virtue is that you can take it with you without feeling like you're lugging a camera around. When I want to "express myself" photographically, I use a different camera. The SD200 takes great snapshots, and I'm sure that a "real" photographer could take better pictures with it than I can with my ultrazoom, but I tend to think of it as a pocket camera for snapshots.