Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 10, 2005, 6:31 PM   #1

I have a p&s Canon A300. Takes nice snapshots but I'm looking for something better at portriats. I have about $450 to spend and I'm looking at the Canon S2 IS, Sony H-1, Panasonic FZ-5. Image quality is top priority. I'm a newbie but I do want a camera with full manual options. At the local Circuit City they have a 6.3 Digital Rebel for $610 (w/lens). Sort of out of my range (wife would have a cow),would the Rebel be THAT much of an improvement? Any suggestions are appreciated.
soukups is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 10, 2005, 10:49 PM   #2

There are two things you should look for in a camera for portraits. A hot shoe for external flash, a standard lens size to hook up a soft focus filter, 49mm, 52mm, 55mm...

With your budget of $450, it is possible to find a decent camera to start, especially now is a good time to buy, stores are now clearing old models to replace with newones coming in for Christmas sales.

The soft focus portrait isdifficultto master, buy a UV filter costs around $15 or less to create a softfocus using paper glue, smear or spot on it to suit your taste, it's easy to clean with water if you don't like it. Test your camera to see how much soft will blind your camera focus system and work backward to a lessen degree of softness.

Ask your family members to pose for you, use flash to fill in, take a few dozen shots, print them on your home printer. Then bring the disk to your local photo lab, ask the operator to print your pictures to see the difference, tell him you want to print these pictures to sell to your clients, this will make him take better care of your pictures than the rest, because if he smart enough, he will adjust the color manually the best he can make sure you make money so you will come back as a regular customer, you make money he'll make money too.